Childhood Inspiration

Today’s post will be a bit different, this time I thought I would discuss a woman who inspired me so much in my childhood. I think she is still one of the most beautiful women alive even now. Her incredible beauty is not the only thing I found to be of influence to my younger self, but her presence & the fact that she was a woman with a powerfully important role on a show I still rewatch to this day. Who is this woman you might ask, well none other than Nichelle Nichols. I haven’t really made a secret of being a nerd & I think I was a trekkie (some use the term trekker, nothing wrong with it, just I was taught my way when I was a little girl in the 80s) while growing in a cozy & personal amniotic sea. It was wonderful to see a woman who was an integral part of the bridge crew, though being honest about it, Roddenberry moved communications to the bridge (it’s never on the bridge in real naval vessels) just to get a woman on the bridge. Many of you may not be aware but there was one episode of the real original Star Trek which was cancelled for daring to have a female first officer. Yes, that’s right, the creator of Star Trek dared to dream that in the future women might hold higher military positions than they did in the 60s perhaps even equal to that of men, but he forgot that The Twilight Zone & The Outer Limits claimed to do their stories in another reality that had no relationship with ours to get away with making bold societal conjectures.

Nyota Uhura(I learned later that Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. talked her into staying with the show, as an inspiring black woman)

Back to my topic, I distracted myself there for a bit, lol. Beautiful, glamorous & always seems to wear incredible statement jewelry. In the above picture the accessories had to comply with Star Fleet regs (LOL), but outside of her various roles she always seems to have the right pieces on. Every time I see Nichelle I’m star struck & she has remained so very elegant & graceful through the years. One of my childhood idols that has never disappointed me.

Nichelle Nichols
I’ve put together a few pieces from JollyChic that are in a similar vein, while also being totally different. LOL Yes, I am aware of just how ambiguous that last statement was. My links are affiliate in nature, so if you follow them to do your shopping I will receive a small commission from your purchases. 🙂

Inspired Jewelry
1) Bohemia Bead Pendant Stylish Vintage Necklace ($5.99)
2) Double Layers Beads Women Fashion Necklace ($16.99)
3) Retro Style Vivid Sequined Beads Pendant Necklace ($7.99)
4) Bohemia Style Layers Resin Stones Chain Necklaces ($4.99)
5) Luxury Colorful Stones Layers Necklaces For Women ($15.99)
6) Graceful Pearl Flower Bride Wedding Necklace Drop Earrings ($11.99)
7) Special Design Bohemia Macadam Necklace For Women ($10.99)

2 thoughts on “Childhood Inspiration

  1. This is a great post! I asked myself about who is my childhood inspirations. I found none of them are females. Lol, I grew up in China and by then no fashion or shows at all. I love her grey hair and I hope when I am older I will have such pretty hair as hers. 😉

    Grace

    http://colorandgrace.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you 🙂 This is actually the only one that popped into my head without trying to think about it, but there are others & future similar posts 🙂 I hear you, I hope my hair is that awesome in my later years too lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

