Finding Work/Life Balance

green-meditating-silohette-hi

This in an important part of life & there are so many suggestions on this topic, so many are good but not necessarily the right fit. I work from home, which presents a large set of difficulties when balancing my work with having a life.

A lot of people suggest unplugging for a while to promote relaxation, but I don’t find that to really work for me. I enjoy using some of my personal time gaming & video games do not function well without power.

I try to use a simple strategy & maybe it will work for you too:

Organize: Plan out work time, family time & personal time with the understanding that a certain amount of flexibility is a prerequisite to make it work out.

Meditate: I try to meditate at least 5 minutes every day, it helps to sharpen my focus & keep me from having a stress melt-down.

Play: Critical that play time happens, seriously what is the point of living if there is never time to enjoy it.

Focus: When work time rolls around I put most distractions to the side & get it done. I say most because I come from a large family & I will go crazy without TV or music in the background. Growing up in chaos has conditioned me to do my best thinking with a chaotic background.

Reevaluate: As with any plan, every now & then it needs to be looked over. This is the time when I eliminate anything that isn’t working & develop new strategies if needed.

2 thoughts on “Finding Work/Life Balance

Leave a Reply

