Weekly Flash Sales and Getting the Word Out

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Setting up weekly flash sales is a must when running your own Kitsy Lane boutique. I have noted that some people like to choose their items the week before, but this has bitten me on the behind so I usually select my sale items within 24 hours of the deadline. Too many times I have made my selections early only to find that many of the items I had chosen were sold out by the time my sale started.

Only 12 items can be marked for flash sale each week. There are times that it is easy to fill & you will wish for more than that & there are other times that it’s difficult to find enough items for it. Your boutique will always have well more than 12 items, but not all items will reduce their prices when added to the flash sale. I’ve taken a few screenshots to illustrate, the button outlined in red is the one you would click to add to your flash sale & the number outlined in red is what the price will become while the item is in your sale.

Unable to place on sale, price does not go down:

Sale Example 01

Unable to place on sale, was in last week’s sale:

Sale Example 03

Perfect sale item:

Sale Example 02

On occasion there is a glitch where an item is included in a sale that comes from corporate HQ, rather than your sales, where the price would actually be higher if purchased from your sale. It can also be frustrating to have an item in your sale be added to a corporate sale the next day or really any time during your sale, because the item appears to be the same price on or off your sale, giving the illusion of there being no discount when the price is actually much lower than you could make it for your own sale.

After I make my selections for the coming week I like to take a screen shot of the collection, because the Kitsy Lane basic flash sale image is quite boring for social media advertising. In order to capture all items that will be in the upcoming sale in the same image I have to zoom the image out, do my screen shot, paste it into an editor & crop it down to just the items. Then I remove extraneous things from the image like my button selectors & usually the regular price. As final touches I often add cute little images & some text that goes something like this:

“Flash Sale

Date – Date”

An example of a recent sale pic I used:

24 Dec 2014 FS

I did actually commit a small error in that sale pic where I accidentally covered one of the prices, but no one is perfect & the image is still catchy. Just in case you’re wondering, I use 2 editors to make my images. I run Windows 7 which came with Paint, because Paint is not great at high quality graphics I only use it to paste my initial screen shot & then to crop the image down to the sale items. I like to consider myself frugal so all of the other edits are done in Gimp which is a free, open source image editor that I find quite handy for putting together a lot of pictures.

Sign up to Orbb’s Fashion boutique to work with me, or just to browse & buy if you like. 😉

Leave a Reply

